UCAR Steering Committee

Anthea Coster, Haystack Observatory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Todd Hoeksema, Hansen Experimental Physics Laboratory, Stanford University

Jens Oberheide, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Clemson University

Cora Randall, Laboratory for Atmospheric & Space Physics, University of Colorado

The steering committee meets annually to review applications and make recommendations to UCAR VSP for appointments.   Steering committee terms are generally three years.

Selection Criteria


  • Quality of applicant
  • Relevance of proposed research to the Program's goals and objectives
  • Scientific potential


  • Quality of matches with hosts and facilities
  • Preference to recent PhDs and those changing fields (PhD within 3 years)
  • Appointments made with attempt to have spread of institutions with balance between universities and research labs
  • In most cases, candidates should change institutions (need compelling reason not to).